Underrepresented Groups (SFS)


Teachings of the Seven Sacred/Seven Grandfathers

Author(s): Ontario Native Literacy Coalition
Published: 2023
Funder(s): MLITSD

The traditional concepts of respect and sharing that form the foundation of the Indigenous way of all life are built around the seven natural laws, or sacred teachings. Each teaching honours one of the basic virtues that are necessary for a full and healthy life. Each law is embodied by an animal to underscore the point that all actions and decisions made by man are manifest on a physical plane. The animal world taught man how to live close to the earth, and the connection that has been established between the animal world, the environment and that of man has instilled a respect for all life in those who follow the traditional Indigenous way.

File(s): Archive (ZIP) Seven Grandfathers.zip
Skills for Success: Communication
Creativity and Innovation